Ninth Case Conference Webinar

The eighth International Pediatric Stroke Challenging Case Conference took place on:

Tuesday, July 17th, 2022 at 10am PST/ 12pm CST/ 1pm EST/ 7pm GMT + 2.

The recording and chat discussion from the 9th Challenging Case Conference
can be found in the members’ only area.

Speakers

Rachel Pearson, MD

Rachel Pearson, MD, a pediatric neurologist at Children’s Health Orange County in Orange, United States presented a case about a 16-year-old male who presented with left side numbness/tingling, found to have thalamic and cerebellar strokes secondary to vertebral artery thrombosis – presumed dissection but no clear inciting trauma.

Tatia Aprasidze, MD, PhD

Tatia Aprasidze, MD, PhD a pediatric neurologist at the M. Iashvili Children’s Central Hospital in Tbilisi, Georgia, presented a case about a previously healthy 7-year-old male who symptoms started with a headache and left-sided weakness and blurred over a one-month time-period. An MRI showed multiple bilateral lesions and was diagnosed with primary CNS vasculitis. ASA and steroid therapy was started, but then the patient deteriorated after a few days with vomiting and dysarthria.

Panelists

Mesha Martinez, MD

Neurointerventionalist
Indiana University of School of Medicine

Marcela Torres, MD

Hematologist – Oncologist
Cook Children’s Hospital

Maja Steinlin, MD

Neurologist
University of Children’s Hospital Bern

Max Wintermark, MD, MBA, MAS

Neuroradiologist
MD Anderson Cancer Center