Virtual Conference Program

Conference Program

Access to IPSO 2021 Conference

Once you are registered for the conference, you will receive an email from Underline, asking you to verify your account. Once you have done this, you will be able to access the virtual platform through this link. Please remember to check your spam/junk mail folders.

IPSO Virtual Conference Dates:

Monday, July 19th, 2021:  6am-10am PDT / 9am-1pm EDT / 2pm-6pm BST / 12am-4am AEST (next day July 20th, 2021)
Tuesday, July 20th, 2021:  9am-1pm PDT / 12pm-4pm EDT / 5pm-9pm BST / 3am-7am AEST (next day July 21st, 2021)
Wednesday, July 21st, 2021: 12pm-4pm PDT / 3pm-7pm EDT / 8pm-12am BST / 6am-10am AEST (next day July 22nd, 2021)

The IPSO Virtual Conference will offer:

229867~|helium~|presentation~|

On-demand poster sessions available throughout the conference with a chat function for Q&A

229867~|helium~|hat~|

IPSO is pleased to announce that the 2021 Virtual Conference will offer 8.75 CME units. Any IPSO attendee wishing to claim CME credits will be required to email us directly and we will arrange to claim credits on your behalf

229867~|helium~|mic~|

4-hour blocks of live content daily

229867~|helium~|message~|

A highly interactive format:  brief recorded talks followed by live panel discussions with audience participation through a chat function and live audience surveys

229867~|helium~|group~|

Optional break-out groups for IPSO committees, working groups, councils

The program will include clinical controversies and scientific updates for an array of topics:  moyamoya, brain arteriovenous malformations, thrombectomy in children, stroke recovery and repair, and more.

 

Click on the below buttons to review a detailed program schedule for each day, including speaker line-up and time zones

 

229867~|helium~|upload~|

View Day 1 Detailed Program

229867~|helium~|upload~|

View Day 2 Detailed Program

229867~|helium~|upload~|

View Day 3 Detailed Program

*Program may be subject to change*

Disclaimer: This activity has been planned and implemented in accordance with the accreditation requirements and policies of the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) through the joint providership of UCSF and the International Pediatric Stroke Organization (IPSO) and Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, and Vanderbilt University Medical Center. UCSF is accredited by the ACCME to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

IPSO 2021 Virtual Conference Speakers

Monday, July 19th
9:00 – 10:00am EST
IPSO General Assembly
Welcome to IPSO: Heather Fullerton Neurology San Francisco, United States
IPSO Business Update: Lori Jordan Neurology Nashville, United States
IPSS Research Update: Noma Dlamini Neurology Toronto, Canada
International Perspective: Pediatric Stroke in Nigeria: Ike Lagunju Neurology Ibadan, Nigeria
       
Monday, July 19th
10:00-10:45 am EST
Controversy #1: Embolectomy in pediatric stroke:  who, when, where, why
Darren Orbach-Chair Neurointerventional Radiology Boston, United States
Rebecca Ichord Neurology Philadelphia, United States
Akash Kansagra Neurointerventional Radiology Saint Louis, United States
Manoëlle Kossorotoff Neurology Paris, France
Monica Pearl Neurointerventional Radiology D.C., United States
Peter Sporns Neurointerventional Radiology Germany
       
Monday, July 19th
10:45-11:30am EST
Controversy #2: Perfusion imaging and cerebrovascular reserve measurement in children
Noma Dlamini-Chair Neurology Toronto, Canada
Shih-Shan Lang Chen Neurosurgery Philadelphia, United States
Sarah Lee Neurology Stanford, United States
Mark Mackay Neurology Melbourne, Australia
Nicholas Stence Neuroradiology Aurora, United States
Arastoo Vossough Neuroradiology Philadelphia, United States
     
Monday, July 19th
11:45am-1:00pm EST
IPSO and Pediatric Stroke Readiness:  the Hub and Spokes
Gabrielle DeVeber-Chair Neurology Toronto, Canada
Timothy Bernard Neurology Aurora, United States
Maria Celeste Buompadre Neurology Buenos Aires, Argentina
Christine Fox Neurology San Francisco, United States
Lucia Gerstl Neurology Munich, Germany
Sahar Hassanein Neurology Cairo, Egypt
Adam Rennie Neurointerventional Radiology London, United Kingdom
       
Tuesday, July 20th
12:00-12:45pm EST
Clinical Controversy #3: Pediatric stroke recovery – from lesion to function: Rethinking what we do
Christine Mrakotsky-Chair Neuropsychology Boston, United States
Sebastian Grunt Physiatry Bern, Switzerland
Adam Kirton Neurology Alberta, Canada
Todd Levy Occupational Therapy Philadelphia, United States
Warren Lo Neurology Columbus, United States
       
Tuesday, July 20th
12:45-1:30pm EST
Clinical Controversy #4: Neuroprotection strategies for neonatal and childhood stroke
Stéphane Chabrier- Chair Neurology Saint Étienne, France
Manon Benders Neurology Zeist, Netherlands
Donna Ferriero Neurology San Francisco, United States
Kristin Guilliams Neurology Saint Louis, United States
       
Tuesday, July 20th
1:40-2:25pm EST
Controversy #5: Management of unruptured brain AVMs in children
Todd Abruzzo-Chair Neurointerventional Radiology Phoenix, United States
Thomas Blauwblomme Neurosurgery Paris, France
Grégoire Boulouis Neurointerventional Radiology Tours, France
Lucas Elijovich Neurointerventional Radiology Memphis, United States
Nalin Gupta Neurosurgery San Francisco, United States
Prakash Muthusami Neurointerventional Radiology Toronto, Canada
       
Tuesday, July 20th
2:25-3:10pm EST
Controversy #6: Medical and surgical management of moyamoya
Moran Hausman-Kedem–Chair Neurology Tel Aviv, Israel
Peter Dirks Neurosurgery Toronto, Canada
Vijeya Ganesan Neurology London, United Kingdom
Ed Smith Neurosurgery Boston, United States
Sudhakar Vadivelu Neurosurgery Cincinnati, United States
       
Tuesday, July 20th
3:20-4:00pm EST
IPSO and the Future of Moyamoya Research:  Moyamoya Research in Japan
Miki Fujimura Neurosurgery Sapporo, Japan
Kikutaro Tokairin Neurosurgery Sapporo, Japan
IPSO and the Future of Moyamoya Research:  IPSS Moyamoya Project Proposal
Noma Dlamini Neurology Toronto, Canada
Laura Lehman Neurology Boston, United States
  Edward Smith Neurosurgery Boston, United States
       
Wednesday, July 21st
3:00-3:45pm EST
Controversy #7:  Novel Oral Anticoagulants (NOACs) for pediatric stroke prevention
Gabrielle DeVeber-Chair Neurology Toronto, Canada
Neil Goldenberg Hematology Baltimore, United States
Maja Steinlin Neurology Bern, Switzerland
Marcela Torres Hematology Fort Worth, United States
       
Wednesday, July 21st
3:45-4:30pm EST
Controversy #8:  Controversies in sickle cell disease
Mukta Sharma-Chair Hematology Kansas City, United States
Michael Dowling Neurology Dallas, United States
Lori Jordan Neurology Nashville, United States
Fenella Kirkham Neurology London, United Kingdom
Ikeoluwa Lagunju Neurology Ibadan, Nigeria
Pat McGann Hematology Cincinnati, United States
       
Wednesday, July 21st
4:40-5:30pm EST
Late-breaking Science:  Lessons & challenges from the pandemic
Lauren Beslow Neurology Philadelphia, United States
Brian Appavu Neurology Phoenix, United States
Ming Lim Neurology London, United Kingdom
Manish Parakh Neurology Rajasthan, India
Yenny Zuniga Neurology Bogotá, Colombia
IPSO General Assembly: Closing Remarks
 
Wednesday 21st July
5:30 – 6:30pm
Heather Fullerton Neurology San Francisco, United States
Darren Orbach Neurointerventional Radiology Boston, United States
Jenny Wilson Neurology Portland, United States
Mukta Sharma Hematology Kansas City, United States
Laura Lehman Neurology Boston, United States
Maja Steinlin Neurology Bern, Switzerland
Warren Lo Neurology Columbus, United States
Mary Kay Ballasiotes Parent / Patient Advocate Charlotte, United States